Arlington HS Dance Teams bring home national awards


The AHS Dance Program was at NDA Nationals in Orlando March 9-10, and they were super successful!!  The Varsity team competed in two divisions, the Large Varsity Pom Division and the Medium Varsity Hip Hop Division.  The JV team competed in Junior Varsity Pom. The Varsity team battled through many challenges, injuries, and disappointments this year, and they fought their way to two second place titles (one for each division), and they also received the "Technical Excellence Award" in the Large Varsity Pom Division and the "Superior Showmanship Award" for their performance in the Medium Varsity Hip Hop Division.  The Junior Varsity team also brought home a "Technical Excellence Award" and they won the first place National Champions title in Junior Varsity Pom!!  These speciality awards are chosen by a panel of judges discussing all of the competitors in the division, so we're really happy to have been selected for these.

The best award of the weekend, though, was an award both teams received at the end of the competition.  There are specialty awards given out at the end of the competition, and the entire program received the Sportsmanship Award, chosen by the judges, for being the most gracious, poised, positive, interactive, competitor-supportive group there.  We're so proud of how well the teams went down and represented our little town and our hometown values!  


JV Team, L-R

Brianna Bogard (10), Michayla Shotwell (9), Jasmine Bass (9), Atlanta Morris (9), Samantha Shearer (10), Lexie Johnson (9), Audrey Wright (9), Ally Jennings (9), Kaylie McGinley (9), Madison Carey (9), Ashley Dennison (9), Caroline Mulder (9), Tammy Mason – AHS Principal, Sara Beahm – JV Coach

Varsity Team 

Back Row: Carly Hall (12), Sharnique Smith (12), Katie Tenner (10), Angela Washington (11), Rachel Chambers (11), Candace Wright – Hip Hop Choreographer, Ambria Beasley (12)

Third Row: Demi Harris (10), Jazmin Jones (10), McKenzie Smith (12)

Second Row (kneeling): Jamie VanBuskirk (10), Chelsey Harris (11), Asia Payne (12), Tabitha Tipton (11), Rana Webb (10), Samantha Smoot (10), Greta Rossmeissl (11)

First Row (squatting): Mone' Moore (10), Samantha Copeland (12), McKinsey Harmon (11), Sierra Dexter (12)

Next Up: