SCS appoints 17 new principals for 2016-17 school year


Administration changes in Shelby County Schools will be evident for the 2016-17 school year.

SCS Superintendent Dorsey Hopson appointed 17 new principles for the upcoming school year.

“In order for our students and schools to reach the ambitious goals we have for this district, it’s important to create an environment that fosters success. It takes a strong, effective school leader to make that become a reality,” Hopson said.

The schools getting the new principals will be primarily traditional and iZone schools, as well as the first-ever appointment for the District’s newly formed Empowerment Zone, which is a “proactive intervention to support low-performing schools in the Whitehaven community,” a SCS press release said.

Below is the complete list of all the new principal appointments:

 Alcy Elementary+

Antuan Knapp

Bruce Elementary+

Archie Moss

Cherokee Elementary*

Sunya Payne

Cummings K-8+

Keyundah Coleman


Tonya Miller

Douglas High*+

John Bush

Douglas K-8*+

Kamiah Turner

Geeter Middle*

Pamela Yancy-Taylor

Hamilton Middle*

Audrey Johnson

Havenview Middle+

Darla Young

Lucy Elementary+

Jonathan Humphrey

Manassas High+

Willie Williams

Mitchell High*

Kelvin Meeks

Trezevant High*

Ronnie Mackin

Westhaven Elementary*

Rodney Rowan

Westwood High*

Julia Callaway

Willow Oaks+

Angela Nichols

*- Denotes iZone School

+ - Denotes New Principal