• SLIDESHOW: MUS Bestows Book Awards

    At the annual Special Awards and Honor Societies Induction, nine Memphis University School students received community and collegiate book awards in recognition of scholastic achievement, leadership and community service. Faculty, administration, MUS alumni and special guests presented the awards.  

    George Clark, an MUS and Sewanee alumnus, presented junior Griffin Wilson with the Sewanee Book Award, which recognizes outstanding writing and academic performance, proven leadership qualities and community or extracurricular contributions.

    Jeremy Alpert, an MUS and Dartmouth alumnus, presented Richard Ouyang with the Dartmouth Book Award. The award recognizes one student from the junior class who represents outstanding scholarship, high moral character and a positive influence in the life of the school.

    Elizabeth Crosby, MUS instructor in English and a University of Virginia alumna, presented Sherman Tabor with the UVA Jefferson Book Award. This honor goes to one well-rounded junior each year who best represents the Jeffersonian ideals of scholarship, leadership and citizenship.

    Rollin Riggs, an MUS and Yale alumnus, presented junior Yunhua Zhao with the Yale Book Award. Zhao was honored for his intellectual promise and inquisitive mind, his motivation to stretch himself and his moral concern for others.

    Charles B. Foster, an MUS and Washington and Lee alumnus, presented junior Jack Gray with the Washington and Lee University Book Award. This award recognizes the qualities exemplified by George Washington and General Robert E. Lee: personal integrity and strength of character, academic excellence, leadership, honor and significant involvement in community service.

    Brian K. Smith, MUS director of the College Counseling Department, presented junior Jack Hirschman with the George Washington University Book Award for his passion in local, state and national politics, his commitment to serving others on local, national and international scales and his independent and creative thought.

    MUS alumnus Wellford Tabor presented Connor Wright with the Wellford Leadership Award. Established in honor of Alexander Wellford, MUS class of 1930 and longtime chairman of the MUS Board of Trustees, the award honors a junior each year whose excellent athletic prowess is combined with a strong sense of leadership, a sense of fair play, integrity, gentleness, good humor and solid scholarship.

    Davis Smith, an MUS instructor in history and Rhodes College alumnus, presented sophomore Grayson Lee with the Rhodes College Book Award for his contributions to the school and community service and his superlative academic record.

    Headmaster Ellis Haguewood presented junior Griffin Wilson with the Randall Ash Perkins Memorial Scholarship Award, which goes to a student whose moral character is beyond reproach and whose school citizenship is exemplary.

    Nancy Bassett of the WeAhTahUmba Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution presented senior Tal Keel with the DAR Good Citizenship Award, which recognizes one high school senior who possesses the qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism in community service.

    In addition to the special awards winners, students were inducted into the French, Spanish and Latin language honor societies, History Honor Society, Quill and Scroll Society, Mu Alpha Theta and Societas Caritatis, the MUS service honor society. In all, 115 students were recognized.

    Next Up: