• Bryant signs 5 bills to consolidate some school districts

    JACKSON, Miss. (AP) -- Gov. Phil Bryant has signed five bills to consolidate some Mississippi school districts and restructure an agricultural high school.
    The governor's office says he signed them Wednesday.
    Senate Bill 2495 (http://bit.ly/1UT1B8u ) consolidates the Winona and Montgomery County districts on July 1, 2018.
    House Bill 926 (http://bit.ly/26fJii5 ) merges the Holmes County and Durant districts on July 1, 2018.
    House Bill 987 (http://bit.ly/1UT15Hw ) combines the Greenwood and Leflore County districts on July 1, 2019.
    Senate Bill 2500 (http://bit.ly/1UT2n5l ) dissolves Lumberton School District on July 1, 2019, splitting it between the Lamar County and Poplarville districts. Lumberton will keep a school.
    Senate Bill 2501 (http://bit.ly/1QZjb3N ) dissolves the Coahoma County Agricultural High School on July 1, 2018. It will be turned into an early college high school run by Coahoma Community College.

    Next Up: