Jones, Stewart named HS coaches for 19th annual AutoZone All-Star Game

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — The 19th annual AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star Game is happening December 11th. Last year, the game couldn’t happen due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The two coaches were announced today, Quintin Jones and Brian Stewart.

Jones, the head coach at Kingsbury High School, will coach the Red Team. Quintin Jones is in his fourth season as the head coach at Kingsbury. He was named the Falcons new head coach in 2018 and charged with rebuilding the Kingsbury program. In his first year, Kingsbury broke an 18-game losing streak and won the first 5-A region game in school history. So far this season, Kingsbury is 2-5-1, winning back-to-back games for the first time since 2012. Prior to taking over as head coach at Kingsbury, Jones was an assistant coach at Westwood High School and Cordova High School. He served as an assistant coach in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star Game in 2018 and 2019. His brother, Anthony, was an All-Star Game head coach in 2016. “The AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star Game gives Memphis a chance to showcase the abundance of talent in the Memphis area,” said Jones. “It gives many seniors one last opportunity to go out as a winner in their final high school game if they didn’t win the state championship. It’s a great way to kick off the activities for the AutoZone Liberty Bowl.”

Stewart, the head coach at Briarcrest Christian School, will coach the Blue Team. Brian Stewart is in his eighth season as the head coach at Briarcrest. He was named head coach of the Saints in 2014. During his tenure at Briarcrest, Stewart has a record of 60-26, including a perfect 8-0 record this year. The Saints have reached the playoffs each season under Stewart. In addition to Briarcrest, Stewart has been a head coach at Middle Tennessee Christian School in Murfreesboro and at Jackson (TN) Christian School. He is a four-time assistant coach in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star Game. “The AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star Game gives the fans an opportunity to see local talent that, in many cases, they have only heard or read about,” said Stewart. “Because of the exposure the game has created over the past years, there has been an increase in appreciation for the overall talent that Memphis and Shelby County have at all levels.”

The All-Star Game will feature the top senior players from Shelby County Schools, municipal schools and private schools in the Memphis area. The game will be played Saturday, December 11 at Memphis University School. Kickoff is at 2:30 pm. Tickets cost $10, for kids 6 and under the cost is $5.

The players will be chosen by a selection committee comprised of area head coaches and other football analysts. Each player must have the recommendation of his head coach and will be selected on the basis of his character, on-field achievement and classroom performance.

AutoZone Liberty Bowl High School All-Star Game History (2002 - 2020)

2002: December 14

Coaches: Ken Netherland – Germantown H.S. (Red) Al Cate – Central H.S. (Blue)

Final Score: Blue 14, Red 9

2003: December 13

Coaches: Wayne Randall – East H.S. (Blue) Maurice Harris – Whitehaven H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Blue 7, Red 6

2004: December 11

Coaches: Terry Ryan – Frayser H.S. (Red) Kevin Locastro – CBHS (Blue)

Final Score: Red 17, Blue 10

2005: December 10

Coaches: Major Wright – White Station H.S. (Red) Duron Sutton – Kingsbury H.S. (Blue)

Final Score: Red 14, Blue 7

2006: December 9

Coaches: Tim Haney – Houston H.S. (Red) John Cooley – Ridgeway H.S. (Blue)

Final Score: Red 14, Blue 13

2007: December 15

Coaches: Jim Heinz – Evangelical Christian School (Blue) Rodney Saulsberry – Whitehaven H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Blue 24, Red 13

2008: December 13

Coaches: Tommy Harrison – Millington H.S. (Blue) Stan Collins – Whitehaven H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Red 14, Blue 0

2009: December 12

Coaches: Charlie White – Germantown H.S. (Blue) Nathan Cole – Mitchell H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Blue 18, Red 15

2010: December 11

Coaches: Bobby Armbruster -- Bartlett H.S. (Blue) Rahnmann Slocum -- Fairley H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Red 17, Blue 14

2011: December 10

Coaches: Earl Lester – Kingsbury H.S. (Blue) Devin Rutherford – White Station H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Red 14, Blue 7

2012: December 8

Coaches: Chris Wiley – Arlington H.S. (Blue) Marcus Wimberly – East H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Blue 58, Red 49 (All-time record for total points scored - 107)

2013: December 14

Coaches: Chris Michael – Millington H.S. (Blue) Lynord Crutchfield – Central H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Blue 43, Red 38

2014: December 13

Coaches: Cecil VanHooks – Craigmont (Blue) Robby Donaldson – FACS (Red)

Final Score: Blue 45, Red 39 MVP: Cameron Sanders, CBHS (first year award was presented)

2015: December 12

Coaches: Tom Nix – CBHS (Blue) Glenn Rogers, Sr. – South Side H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Red 18, Blue 14 MVP: Donte Vaughn, Whitehaven H.S.

2016: December 10

Coaches: Anthony Jones – Cordova H.S. (Blue) Joe Rocconi – White Station H.S. (Red)

Final Score: Blue 10, Red 3 MVP: Tyler Garvey, Collierville H.S.

2017: December 9

Coaches: Jerome Griffin – Wooddale H.S. (Red) David Carter – St. George’s (Blue)

Final Score: Red 31, Blue 28 MVP: Paul Todd, Hillcrest H.S.

2018: December 8

Coaches: Johnny Allen – Harding Academy (Red) Carl Coleman – Manassas H.S. (Blue)

Final Score: Red 13, Blue 2 MVP: Dawson Williams, ECS

2019: December 14

Coaches: Gene Robinson – Fairley H.S. (Red) Preston Harris – Douglass H.S. (Blue)

Final Score: Red 14, Blue 10 MVP: Romal Webb, Southwind H.S. The Red Team has won three straight and leads the series 10-8

2020: No game was played due to Covid. The AZLB partnered with Shelby County Schools to host a player showcase/combine at Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium.

The AutoZone Liberty Bowl contributed to the piece