22 counties now included in Mississippi mask mandate

JACKSON, Miss. — There are now 22 counties included under a mask mandate in the state of Mississippi.

Monday, Gov. Tate Reeves added seven more counties to a growing list of places where he said the number of COVID-19 cases is highest.

RELATED: Gov. Reeves extending “Safe Recovery” order through Dec. 11

Some of the counties Republican Gov. Tate Reeves added to the list include counties where hospital bed capacity is dropping even as the number of cases is rising.

“The virus is not getting significantly better,” Reeves said during a Facebook live address, where he also introduced his executive budget recommendation.

Reeves said the problem in his state is getting “marginally worse.”

Monday, 589 new cases and two deaths were reported, with numbers showing several counties consistently reporting high numbers of cases. While admitting even higher amounts of cases could be coming after families took part in Halloween, Reeves added more counties to a list of places where mask mandates are in place.

RELATED: DeSoto County teacher’s aide dies from COVID-19, sources say

“Last week, we had a large number of cases -- our worst week since probably late July or early August.,” said Reeves.

The counties added are Hinds, Pontotoc, Winston, Itawamba, Madison, Montgomery, and Tate.

Reeves advised people to “stay in small groups” and “always wear a mask” when in public, even if not in a county with a mask mandate.

As Reeves makes mask mandates in Mississippi, he has already said the state would not be taking part in any federal mask mandate that would potentially come as a result of President-elect Joe Biden’s policies once in office.

For the latest on coronavirus, stream FOX13 News on FOX13 Memphis Now – it’s free on your Roku, Amazon Fire or Apple TV as well as your FOX13 News App. You can also follow FOX13 on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.