Mississippi — The Mississippi State Department of Health issued an isolation order on Friday, ordering all COVID-positive patients to isolate for a minimum of 10 days or else face jail time and/or a fine.
The state health department said that as soon as someone tests positive for the virus they must isolate for at least 10 days. Punishment could result in a $500 fine, six months in jail or both.
That order applies to all people, the state health department said, regardless of vaccination status.
COVID patients do not need to test negative after the 10 days of isolation to end their quarantine, but they must be fever-free for 24 hours and have improvement of other symptoms, according to MSDH.
The state health department said that all Mississippi schools K-12 are required to exclude any students and staff diagnosed with COVID-19 from the school setting during the isolation period.
The Mississippi State Department of Health also noted that if a life-threatening disease is involved, failure or refusal to obey the lawful order of a health officer is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000.00 or five years in prison or both.
©2021 Cox Media Group