Free concert series returns to Levitt Shell Sept. 3

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — Free live music is coming back to the Levitt Shell.

Sept. 3 will mark the return of the concert series, featuring local and regional artists, according to a release from the Levitt Shell.

This year, the Shell partnered with the Memphis Black Arts Alliance to showcase black artists on the dance floor before each concert.

According to the release, the Levitt Shell was able to raise vital funds through its Shell Yeah! Benefit Concert Series this summer. 100% of the proceeds from those concerts enabled the return of free concerts this fall.

Here’s the concert lineup:

Friday, September 3 - Nick Black

Saturday, September 4 - #OccupyTheShell (a one-day Memphis Musician Showcase)

Friday, September 10 - Don Bryant featuring The Bo-Keys

Saturday, September 11 - #BigAssTruck

Friday, September 17 - Marcella Simien Music

Saturday, September 18 - #StoneSoulPicnic (in partnership with WLOK + Gilliam Foundation)

Friday, September 24 - #ChineseConnectionDubEmbassy

Saturday, September 25 - #RebaRussell & Susan Marshall

Friday, October 1 - Sensational Barnes Brothers

Saturday, October 2 - #StaxAlumniBand

Friday, October 8 - #CountryBluesFestival Presents: Blind Mississippi Morris

Saturday, October 9 - Dale Watson

Friday, October 15 - Cameron Bethany.

Saturday, October 16 - #DetectiveBureau

Friday, October 22 - Acting Natural

Saturday, October 23 - Tropical Fusion Latin Band

Orion FCU nexAir, llc #theshellisback