How did Mid-South representatives vote on President Trump’s second impeachment?

Trump impeachment vote: What you need to know

WASHINGTON D.C — In a history-making moment, the House voted to impeach President Donald Trump on charges of “incitement of insurrection” after the deadly riot at the Capitol.

The vote was 231-197 to pass one article of impeachment for incitement of insurrection.

LIVE UPDATES: House votes to impeach Trump for second time

Content Continues Below

Although Trump’s actual removal seems unlikely before the Jan. 20 inauguration of President-elect Joe Biden, Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer, D-New York, promised an impeachment trial.

A spokesman for Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell said a Senate trial could not begin at least until Jan. 19.

Ten Republicans voted to impeach Trump although none of them were from the Mid-South.

Mid-South Legislators React:

U.S. Representative Steve Womack (R-AR)

“There is no defending the actions of rioters and the leaders who fanned the flames of insurrection. It was a national disgrace. But no option currently presented before the House will remove the President before his term ends on January 20th. The impeachment vote can therefore only serve to inflame tensions and test an already fragile nation. My position isn’t to appease any party, ideology, or person – it is to start the process of putting our country back together. Congress should be using this moment to solve for the pressing issues of America – defeating the coronavirus, enhancing vaccine distribution, ensuring an orderly transition of government, fighting socialist policies, reinvigorating our economy, and healing the deep divisions we face. Let us not be distracted.”

U.S. Representative Bennie Thomspon (D-MS)

President Trump gravely endangered the security of the United States, threatened the integrity of the democratic system, interfered with the peaceful transition of power, and imperiled a coequal branch of Government. He must be impeached & removed now.”

U.S. Representative Steve Cohen (D-TN)

Before the vote, Cohen made this statement from the House floor:

“After President Trump was impeached but not convicted last year, Senator Susan Collins said ‘he’s learned a pretty big lesson. He was impeached.’ Then, last week, he brought his ‘it will be wild’ riotous television show that he produced for one person, Individual One. Intelligence reports indicate that the people he said he ‘loves’ and ‘are special’ are going to attack this city and attack this Capitol next week. He has not asked them not to do it. He has not told them to stand down. I most fear January 20th because I think he will try to go out with a bang and take attention away from Joe Biden.”

U.S. Representative David Kustoff (R-TN)

“There is no doubt every American was shocked by the violent attack on the U.S. Capitol Building last Wednesday. As our country is experiencing this time of turmoil and uncertainty, we must work together to reconcile our differences and heal our nation. Impeaching President Trump during his last seven days in office would only further divide us as Americans,” said Kustoff. “That is why I do not support the removal of President Trump through impeachment. Our country is in the middle of a global pandemic and the American people are struggling. We must focus our efforts on unifying our country and supporting a peaceful transition of power on January 20th.”

Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN)

“At a time when the United States needs national healing and a true commitment to the rule of law, the American people should look to their legislators not to deepen partisan division, but to bring us together. There are seven days to go in the President’s term, and he has fully committed to a peaceful transfer of power.”

Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-TN.)

“To persist with impeachment now, with just days to go in the current administration, will further divide Americans and exacerbate tensions,” said Senator Blackburn. “Moving forward, it is my sincere hope Congress will work on a bipartisan basis to restore the confidence of the American people in our elections, and affirm our shared commitment to the rule of law.”

Here’s how Mid-South’s members in Congress voted:

· Rep. Rick Crawford (R-Arkansas 1st District): Nay

· Rep. Trent Kelly (R-Mississippi 1st District): Nay

· Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Mississippi 2nd District): Yay

· Rep. Mark Green (R-Tennessee 7th District): Nay

· Rep. David Kustoff (R-Tennessee 8th District): Nay

· Rep. Steve Cohen (D-Tennessee 9th District): Yay