Democratic National Convention: Schedule for 4-day event announced

Democratic National Convention: Schedule for 4-day event announced
WILMINGTON, DE - JULY 28: Presumptive Democratic presidential nominee former Vice President Joe Biden delivers a speech at the William Hicks Anderson Community Center, on July 28, 2020 in Wilmington, Delaware. (Photo by Mark Makela/Getty Images /Getty Images)

Aug. 5, 2020, 11:30 a.m. ET: Former Vice President Joe Biden will not travel to Milwaukee to accept the Democratic Party’s nomination for president due to COVID-19 concerns.

The Democratic National Convention will take place in a couple of weeks, but it won’t be the boisterous celebration of politics we are used to seeing every four years.

Instead, look for a mostly virtual event, thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic. The highlight will be when presumptive nominee Joe Biden accepts the nomination on the last night of the convention.

Content Continues Below

What we know about the Democratic National Convention:

  • It will take place Aug. 17-20.
  • The party's mostly virtual festivities will kick off on Monday with opening ceremonies and a selection of speakers, who will be announced at a later date.
  • The results of votes on reports from each of the three standing committees to the convention -- rules, platform and credentials -- will also be announced on Monday, including the vote on the party's platform. Voting on the reports begin Monday and will continue through Aug. 15.
  • The keynote address is set for Tuesday.
  • Also on Tuesday, the presidential candidate nominating and seconding speeches will take place. Delegates will nominate Biden by a roll-call vote that will be held virtually. There will be no delegates in the hall.
  • Biden will deliver his acceptance speech on Thursday, Aug. 20.
  • The vice-presidential nominee (who has yet to be named) will be nominated on Wednesday, Aug. 19 and give an acceptance speech that night. It is unclear where the speech will be delivered.
  • Permanent officers for the convention are:

Rep. Bennie Thompson, D-Miss., is the permanent convention chair. New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy; Sen. Tammy Duckworth, D-Illinois; Sen. Tom Carper, D-Delaware; Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett; Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms; and Rep. Tony Cárdenas, D-California, will serve as permanent co-chairs. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-California, and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer, D-New York, are honorary chairs

  • Vice chairmen include:

Sen. Bob Casey, D-Pennsylvania; Rep. Sharice Davids, D-Kansas; Rep. Donna Shalala, D-Florida; former Rep. Carol Shea-Porter, D-New Hampshire; Wisconsin Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes; Nevada Lt. Governor Kate Marshall; Michigan Lt. Gov. Garlin Gilchrist; and former Rep. Tony Coelho, D-California. Rep. Gwen Moore, D-Wisconsin, will serve as sergeant-at-arms.

  • For more information on the activities planned for the week, click here.