Election 2020: Here’s a list of local races happening across the Mid-South

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — While the biggest race in the 2020 election season is the Presidential race, there are a lot of local races happening in all Mid-South states.

RELATED: Up the Vote 901 wants to make sure people know their rights at the polls

To help voters prepare to head to the polls, FOX13 is breaking down what you can expect to see on your ballots.


U.S. Senate Race:

Bill Hagerty (R)

Marquita Bradshaw (D)

U.S. House of Representatives District 8

David Kustoff (R-Incumbent)

Erika Stotts Pearson (D)

U.S. House of Representatives District 9

Charlotte Bergmann (R)

Steve Cohen (D-Incumbent)

Tennessee Senate and House of Representative candidates can be found here.

RELATED: Election 2020 timeline: What happens after Election Day?


In the Natural State, Arkansans will be voting on three constitutional amendments.

Amendment 1 would continue the states 0.5% sales tax. Money generated would go towards fixing state highways and bridges, county roads, and other transportation surfaces.

Amendment 2 changes term limits for Arkansas legislators. Currently, legislators can serve 16 years consecutively. The amendment would change the term limits to 12 years consecutively.

Amendment 3 would make changes to how proposed ballot measures make it on the ballot for you to vote on. This amendment would change three parts of Arkansas' constitution. The University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Research and Extension breaks this amendment down even more here.

Local races Arkansans can expect on their ballot include the race for U.S. Senate and U.S. House of representatives.

U.S. Senate

Tom Cotton (R-Incumbent)

Ricky Dale Harrington Jr. (L)

U.S. House of Representatives

Rick Crawford (R-Incumbent)


Mississippians will have several amendments to vote on in this year’s election.

Measure 1 deals with legalizing medical marijuana. This initiative has caused a lot of confusion for voters. FOX13 broke down what you need to know regarding this initiative here.

Measure 2 would get rid of the electoral vote for statewide races like Governor, Lt. Governor, etc. Currently, candidates for elected statewide office have to win the popular vote and the electoral vote, that’s getting the highest number of votes in the state’s 122 house district. If a candidate does not win both the popular and electoral vote, the Mississippi House of Representatives will pick a winner out of the two candidates with the highest number of votes. If measure 2 gets passed, candidates would only have to win the popular vote. Statewide elected positions are Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Commissioner of Agriculture, and Commissioner of Insurance.

Measure 3 is the flag referendum. Mississippians will vote on a new state flag.

Local races Mississippians will vote on include the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives.

U.S. Senate

Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Incumbent)

Mike Espy (D)

U.S House of Representatives District 1

Trent Kelly (R-Incumbent)

Antonia Eliason (D)

U.S House of Representatives District 2

Brian Flowers (R)

(Incumbent) Bennie Thompson (D)

FOX13 has an entire section dedicated to ELECTION 2020. Click here for more.